Posted by: Margaret Cappa | May 21, 2010

May 21: Bodø

I am writing to you from Bodø, Norway. It’s located just above the Arctic Circle. We are here for the Barents International Press Meeting.

There are 72 journalists from across the Barents Region, which is Northern Norway, Sweden, Finland and Russia. Unfortunately a group of about 12 journalists from Murmansk, Russia aren’t coming anymore because of complications from the Icelandic volcano ash cloud.

Bodø is a port town, just north of the Arctic Circle. It’s cradled between jarring, rocky mountains and a harbour teaming with ocean life. We’ve only had the opportunity to walk around the harbour, so I hope we’ll see more of this ocean town tomorrow and Sunday!

(more blog below video)

Some strange and funny things happened to me today!

First, we found a baby in Oslo airport. Yes, it’s true! This little, blonde-haired, blue-eyed toddler was wandering around with no one in sight watching him. He’d wandered off from his family. It is quite a busy transportation hub and I can see how a 2-foot tall little guy could walk out-of-sight in a split second. Anyways, Chantaie and I spotted him and followed him around as he seemed to scan the bustling crowds for a familiar face. Then, a frantic father came scurrying towards us, scooped up his child and said thank-you umpteen times. I can’t imagine the emotional roller coaster he must have experienced in those 10 or so minutes.

From there, we decided to get a coffee. Well, that was a heated situation – literally. I think this coffee shop must have talked to Tim Horton’s and been inspired to make REALLY hot coffee! I thought I could manage holding the coffee in one hand and pulling my carry-on in the other, but let me tell you, I was wrong. After about a minute walking, I had to make a big decision so as to not burn my hand – do I interrupt a group of middle-aged business having a pint at an approaching table or drop the coffee on the floor? I think you know what I did 🙂 I don’t think these men understood what I was saying, but they sure read by body language and proceeded to chuckle. They helped me wrap some paper around the cup and sent me off with a smile.

Bodø harbour

Bodø harbour

Tomorrow should prove to be memorable. There’s a seminar for “Young Journalists in the Barents Region” where I’ll get to meet journalism students and young journalists in Scandinavia and Russia.

I’m also looking forward to exploring more of Bodø.

Leave a Reply

Categories

